Upgrade to ChromeUpgrade to FirefoxUpgrade to Internet ExplorerUpgrade to Safari

Penhein Glamping – Rural Retreat in South Wales

Special Mentions

What People Say


Proud Winners of the AA Glampsite of the Year Award 2018-2019

Awards

We are SO thrilled to have won the AA Glamping Site of the Year 2018-19 Award! As a small, family-run glampsite this really does mean the world to us - we're so honoured and feeling all fired up for next season!

We all enjoyed the Halloween activities. Oct 2018

Testimonial

Tracey and her family joined us for our first ever Halloween special! "Just returned from an amazing break at Penhein. Our stay was perfect from beginning to end- we had to drag our children away from the tyre swing! The pods are luxurious & provide everything you need. The beds were extremely comfortable & the linen crisp & white. Helen & James were very welcoming & friendly - nothing was too much trouble. We all enjoyed the Halloween activities. We hope to return next year. Thank you Helen & James."

Where to start! 'Like' doesn't cover the words needed to describe this little slice of heaven. Oct 2018

Testimonial

Deborah and her family joined us in October and it was so good to meet them. "Where to start! Like doesn’t cover the words needed to describe this little slice of heaven. The whole place is absolutely magical from the winding paths to the amazing Yurts and the home-made food we had delivered to our Yurt. If I had to choose one thing it would be the amazing sense of peace you feel the moment you arrive. Oh, and the fantastic James who made us feel so welcome. I would recommend everything! From a midnight camp fire to a good old walk in the most beautiful grounds. Put your boots on, you're going to love it! If you would like to truly experience all Penhein has to offer get stuck in, order food, go shooting, meet everyone. I can guarantee the memories you make will last forever. This place is absolutely outstanding."

Just wanted to say a huge Thank You! Sept 2018

Testimonial

We so enjoyed having Hilary and her partner to stay with us in September 2018. "Loved the décor, really cosy, felt very lord of the rings -esk. James and Helen were so friendly, literally didn’t need to ask them for anything, all our needs were really met. Loved the farm too. Just wanted to say a huge thank you! It was a surprise trip away for my boyfriend who missed camping (which we used to do a lot of when we lived in Vancouver Island) and I felt that it really allowed us/him to truly escape the city and feel nostaligic of our time in the US."

From start to finish it has been an absolute pleasure to organise my birthday party with you! Sept 2018

Testimonial

We loved having Emma and her friends to stay for her birthday weekend. "I just wanted to say a huge thank you for such a wonderful weekend at Penhein. From start to finish it has been an absolute pleasure to organise my birthday party with you all. Organising a weekend away for 27 people isn’t easy and you made the experience as stress free as possible! The site truly is beautiful and we did have everything we could possibly need. The tents are very special and the little touches with the flowers and the welcome packs made it very personal. Your coffee in particular was delicious and I’m sad I forgot to buy some more before I left! The shower block is also lovely, what a luxury! Camping will never be the same again. James, thank you for all of your help whilst we were there. The treasure hunt in particular was a highlight for everyone. I will most definitely be recommending Penhein to anyone who will listen, it really did surpass all my expectations. We had such a wonderful time so thank you again."

The team had the best time! July 2018

Testimonial

Catherine was the staff party organiser for wonderful popcorn company Propercorn in July 2018. "I wanted to drop you an email to say a massive thank you for putting up with us over the last 2 days, the team had the best time (I have heard rumblings that it has gone right in at the top for fav party!) Please can you also thank the guys for the survival skills afternoon...the bush tucker trials were brilliant!! The party tent looked fantastic and you have all just been so great and accommodating, I'll definitely be coming back..."

Most definitely the best weekend of my life! July 2018

Testimonial

Rochelle was the hen party organiser and this was how the bride responded. "My bridesmaids chose Penhein to host my hen do...and it was most definitely the best weekend of my life! .....it was the perfect venue, beautiful glamping pods, gorgeous welcome hampers, the bath was a definite highlight and helped me with my hangover! Penhein is such a special place and I know many of us are already trying to think of excuses to return. Thank you so much for being so wonderful." Their stay included perfume making from plants they had foraged from around the farm. Our wonderful forager Adele got the girls to collectively make a perfume for the bride.

Shortlisted for the Rural Business Awards. June 2018

Awards

We are proud to have been shortlisted for the 2018 Rural Business Awards. We are a regional finalist in the Wales and NI region and are waiting excitedly to see if we make it through to the Grand Final when Regional Winners are announced in October this year. Fingers crossed!

It is a gem of a place. June 2018

Testimonial

Claire and her staff brought 19 A Level Biology students to Penhein for a field trip in June. "Thank you so much for a wonderful trip last week. It was amazing, and we could not have asked for more. As I have said it is a perfect venue for A Level field studies ......it is a gem of a place for this. Thank you so much for all your hospitality, outstanding service, amazing accommodation, essential ecology, magnificent food and for an excellent time."

We truly had the best time here! June 2018

Testimonial

Jodie and her family had a magical time with us in June 2018. "My husband and I would like to thank you both for creating a magnificent glamping experience! We truly had the best time here. Throughout both our childhoods we've spent the summer camping out and it's been magical being able to give our two year old little girl the same experience.... she absolutely loved the adventure playground and den building. We also spent the day in Abergavenny which was fantastic."

Loved, loved, loved it! FIVE STARS!! May 2018

Testimonial

Nick and Veronica stayed with us as part of a large birthday group in May 2018. "Honestly, it was perfect! Setting is unbelievably beautiful. Alachighs stocked with everything. Beautifully designed. Romantic candlelight evenings. Communal tent perfect. Showerblock 5 star! Loved, loved, Loved it!! Will definitely recommed to friends and will be back as soon as possible. Loved the gorgeous flower meadow and the large firepit and seating. FIVE STARS!!"

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2018

Awards

We're thrilled to have received TripAdvisor's Certificate of Excellence award for 2018. These prestigious awards go to the 10% of businesses on TripAdvisor that have consistently achieved great reviews over the past year. There is no application process and the achievement is earned over time. Thank you so much to all our guests who have left glowing reviews - it is so appreciated!

I just want to say we all had an absolutely fabulous time! April 2018

Testimonial

We loved having Heidi and her daughter's hen party with us in April 2018. "I just want to say we all had an absolutely fabulous time ! Your site is amazing, and the tents are so well equipped that we couldn’t think of one thing that you had missed!" Read her full review here. Find out more »

This wonderful place totally exceeded our expectations. April 2018

Testimonial

Kate and Ben and children had a family break with us in April 2018. "This wonderful place totally exceeded our expectations. It was a joy to stay in this clean, modern yurt with total attention to detail from the spring flowers to the fabulous lighting. The wood chipping path avoided the worst of the mud, especially for the little ones.... We didn't need anything other than some drier wood, which Max quickly arranged".

Just the right balance between rural escapism and lighting fires, but without the suffering...... October 2017

Testimonial

Rebecca has stayed with us on several occasions, this time in October 2017. "It was great. Real care and attention to detail which was very much appreciated. For us, just the right balance between rural escapism and lighting fires, but without the suffering".

It was an ideal break from the madness of our daily lives...... October 2017

Testimonial

Nicky stayed with us in October 2017. "Penhein is fabulous. You should both be very proud of what you've created. It was an ideal break from the madness of our daily lives, and despite the crazy storms - or maybe because of them - we spent some truly memorable time teaching the kids scrabble in front of the stove. Proper family time that was much needed".

I honestly can't thank you enough. We genuinely think this place is perfect. October 2017

Testimonial

Lucy brought her partner to Penhein as a birthday surprise in October 2017. "I honestly can't thank you enough. This weekend was Andrew's birthday present from me. I kept the whole thing a surprise for months - didn't even tell him where we were staying as we came up the drive. The whole weekend has been incredible, but I can definitely say the best part was the look on his face when he came into the alachigh and realised we were staying somewhere absolutely stunning. We genuinely think this place is perfect. Everything from the scenery to the details in the alachigh has made this a wonderful weekend for us. Your enthusiasm and passion for Penhein is infectious. Congratulations on such a welcoming place for guests!"

Your flexibility and ingenuity has been amazing..... October 2017

Testimonial

Amy organised a corporate stay with us in October 2017. "On behalf of me, my team and my client I would like to thank you. Your flexibility and ingenuity has been amazing. I really felt like you cared how this enquiry went and that is something that can be quite rare now a days....I will definitely be recommending you to the whole office. Once again thank you so much for all your help. You, James and Teresa have been stars!"

Penhein site was absolutely incredible..... September 2017

Testimonial

Sophie and her friends joined us for a birthday party in September 2017. "I've read the review form and speaking on behalf of our group, that we all agree that Penhein glamp site was incredible. Not one person had a complaint.... I personally have nothing to add, You guys have done an exceptional job and we plan to return every year as a celebration to the success of this weekend alone, forget birthdays and other reasons!!"

Penhein is a Truly Amazing Place! September 2017

Testimonial

Emma and her husband stayed with us in September 2017 for their 4th wedding anniversary. Read their review in full. Find out more »

Great that the children can play safely and happily. August 2017

Testimonial

Amy visited with her family in August 2017. "Great that the children can make new friends and play safely and happily, building dens and exploring. It was also great that bushcraft was the day after we arrived so friendships were made and blossomed for the rest of the week. Good bonding time."

AA Five Gold Pennant Award 2017/18

Awards

We are immensely proud to have been awarded the AA's Five Gold Star rating. The inspector has said of us "It was a joy to visit this very special leisure destination again...Penhein Glamping continues to be an excellent example of an AA Glamping site".

The kids have loved being able to run freely and play. July 2017

Testimonial

Lorraine and her family came to stay in July 2017. "We have had a fab week. James and other staff were very welcoming. We had everything we needed and enjoyed getting to grips with the fire and cooking. We didn't cheat much! The kids have loved being able to run freely and play, even in the rain!"

Glamp It Up. The 20 Best UK Sites - June 24th 2017

Media

From a converted horsebox on the Cornish coast to a cool hut in Cumbria, Liz Bird picks the top spots. Penhein is one of them! Find out more »

It was lovely for our energetic twins to make all the noise they wanted! June 2017

Testimonial

We loved having Farin, her parents and her young family to stay with us in June 2017. "We really enjoyed ourselves - thank you so much! You made us feel very welcome and it was lovely for our energetic twins to make all the noise they wanted and wear themselves out! My parents had a super 40th anniversary. We definitely plan to return."

The attention to detail was perfection. June 2017

Testimonial

We were delighted to welcome Kate and her hen party to Penhein in June 2017, and they took the whole site. "The attention to detail was perfection. The little touches really made it special; the welcome hamper, fresh flowers, bunting and lights in the communal tent. The Yurts were incredible! The log burner/kitchenette was so lovely to have and the bed linen/towels were of a high quality which makes a big difference! The communal tent really made it for us as a group though, somewhere to play games and dance the night away".

Thank you for making us feel so welcome. April 2017

Testimonial

Giovanna and family joined us for a fun filled week in April 2017. "Thank you for making us feel so welcome and sharing this beautiful space with us. We all had a truly fantastic time. The kids enjoyed playing outside making new friends and enjoying nature, and we felt they were safe and happy. The shower facilities are amazing and a real plus point. Well done for creating a wonderful place for families and friends to come and and enjoy and relax. We wish you every success in your growing business and we look forward to seeing you again."

We loved everything and had an amazing time. October 2016

Testimonial

Steffi organised a girls get together with us in October 2016. "We loved everything and had an amazing time. We also really appreciated that we could have contacted you for anything, that we had such a warm welcome and that you sent us a welcome pack to get us excited even before we got here!".

It's a lovely, lovely place. August 2016

Testimonial

James and family stayed with us in August 2016. "It is a lovely, lovely place. The tent is really cosy, comfortable and fun to stay in. The luxury bathroom is great, with super hot powerful showers. The views are amazing and the grounds are great to walk in. Love the welcome hamper and book of info - very useful."

My daugther is currently announcing she's staying forever! July 2016

Testimonial

Sarah and her family enjoyed their time with us in July 2016. "This has been one of the best holidays we've ever had. My daughter is currently announcing that she's "staying forever". The boys loved the fire outside and the little log chairs are fab. James, your passion and enthusiasm for this place is infectious - you have both clearly worked incredibly hard and and your love of Penhein is obvious in every little detail. Congratulations!"

Daily Telegraph - Britain's 25 Coolest Campsites July 2016

Media

We were thrilled to be included in the Daily Telegraph's list of 25 Coolest Campsites. As they said themselves “Stylish country-chic furniture gives a homely feel… At night you can lie back and stargaze through the skylight and dream of the caves and castles to discover come morning”. Find out more »

The tent is comfortable, the meadow wonderful, the showerblock heavenly. March 2016

Testimonial

Tracey, Will and family stayed with us in late March 2016. "Everything was wonderful. The team have worked really hard to created something special and have succeeded. The tent is comfortable, the meadow wonderful. The showerblock is heavenly. Congratulations on a lovely place. We hope to return. Thank you."

James was an excellent host.... March 2016

Testimonial

Samantha and family left us a lovely message as fellow accommodation hosts. "Being hardened campers (we often go round Europe in a VW van) we wanted a bit of luxury, especially as it was for a birthday celebration. The Persian tent was perfect. You have done an excellent job with the facilities and have struck the right balance for 'glamping'. James was an excellent host and his chocolate cake was indeed chocolatey. Thank you. We run holiday cottages so understand the hard graft that goes into keeping things right for guests. You have a very good balance. Wishing you plenty of bookings and all the best for the future".

Even Storm Katie couldn't spoil our adventure. March 2016

Testimonial

Emma and family stayed with us over Easter 2016 - in the middle of a storm. "Thank you so much, we've had an amazing relaxed time. Even Storm Katie couldn't spoil our adventure. We will highly recommend you to our friends and family... Thanks again."

My favourite thing was definitely the freezer chests! September 2015

Testimonial

Catherine joined us for her Hen Party in September 2015 "I wanted to email to pass on my thanks for making the weekend so wonderful. Helen and James have been incredibly helpful from the moment we made the booking to the moment we left, and the venue is superb. My favourite thing was definitely the freezer chests! Thanks again Helen, I won't hesitate to recommend you to anyone looking for a great place to stay!"

The Shower Block was perfect! August 2015

Testimonial

Emma stayed at Penhein in Aug 2015 "Everything was catered for. It was clean and comfortable with enough privacy and the shower block was perfect! We had a wonderful short break and we will definitely return. Thank you."

Best Glampsites in the UK - 1st August 2015

Media

The Times runs a list of the Top 30 Glampsites in the UK and Penhein is right up there! Find out more »

Secret sites from Camp to Glamp - July 2015

Media

The Sunday Times runs a list of their favourite secret glamping and camping spots. We were so pleased to be included. Find out more »

Lovely warm reception from James and Helen... July 2015

Testimonial

Catherine from South Gloucestershire stayed in July 2015 "Penhein is a fantastic spot to ‘get away from everything’. Lovely warm reception from Helen and James. Really can’t find fault with any aspect of our stay. The thought and effort you've put into making sure your guests are comfortable is much appreciated."

I particularly enjoyed the flowers, teabags, crisp cotton sheets, fluffy white towels....July 2015

Testimonial

Ali and her family joined us in July 2015 "We had an absolutely fantastic time this weekend, staying in your superb glamping tents. The attention to detail was excellent and much appreciated. I particularly enjoyed the flowers, teabags, crisp cotton sheets, fluffy white towels, luxurious roll top bath, cheats kettle, beautiful tealight candle holders and the bread, jam and butter (the best bread I have had in a long time). The children did not appreciate the lovely kitchen unit, luxurious shower block or any of the other details, however your field and hay, firepits and sticks were great! It was one of the most relaxing weekends I have spent with my children in a long time. Thank you"

Toasting Marshmallows | Penhein Glamping Experience Gift Vouchers | Holidays in South Wales

An absolutely fantastic experience! July 2015

Testimonial

Cornwall based Lisa visited us in July 2015 "An absolutely fantastic experience - thanks! We would highly recommend Penhein to friends and family, it was a wonderful holiday and you guys couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming! We will come back again!"

Country Homes and Interiors - Happy Thoughts and Ideas June 2015

Media

Country Homes and Interiors runs a lovely piece called Happy Thoughts and Ideas - a perfect description for Penhein! "We love it because ….It’s perfect for first timers – a comfortable and stylish experience set on a 400 acre farm". Find out more »

The Times Weekend - Britain's Best Glamping Sites May 2015

Media

A list of Britain's best glamping sites according to The Times Weekend Section. Who are we to argue?! Find out more »

I managed to give one of the best birthday presents ever to my partner all thanks to Penhein Glamping...April 2015

Testimonial

Andy came to Penhein for his partner's birthday in April 2015 "Just wanted to take the time to thank you both so for such a wonderful 3 days. We loved everything you have done from the location ,surroundings and set up to the spacious clean and beautifully decorated Alachigh. I managed to give one of the best birthday presents ever to my partner all thanks to Penhein Glamping and all the small touches that show you've put more thought than others would . Thanks so much again and look forward to the next time."

A magical experience, with indulgent luxury..... March 2015

Testimonial

Melanie and family joined us in March 2015 "We just wanted to thank you for a lovely couple of days at Penhein, for allowing us to turn up early despite it causing you extra work and for your care and attention to detail. It was truly glorious and we had a great time. You really have thought of everything and there were some lovely touches – the welcome hamper (soon disappeared), the tea light chandelier, the lovely cosy bed, the cheat’s kitchen (for when we hadn’t yet got the fire going) plenty of wood and of course the wood stove AND the fire pit. The living space in the alcachigh was great – there was more than enough room and a nice setting out of the different spaces. The inside loo was also a welcome bonus! The shower block was beautifully done out too: underfloor heating, fabulously big showers with enough space to change and to not get your clothes wet, and the roll top bath was of course a very indulgent luxury which we made use of. It all made for a magical experience with indulgent luxury and peace and quiet. You can’t get better than that."

Nothing was too much trouble..... March 2015

Testimonial

Kim came to Penhein in March 2015 "I would highly recommend Penhein to any group of friends, families or even a romantic break. It's the perfect setting with comfy beds, kitchen facilities, flushing loos in every tent and even a camping-luxe shower block, it's ideal for those not too prepared to full-on-camp. Prior to our stay I was liaising with Helen who was very responsive and accommodating. I had arranged for an Ocado and Waitrose delivery to the site during our weekend and Helen was extremely helpful by even offering her contact should the driver get lost. James met us upon arrival and gave us a thorough induction on the site and a quick tutorial on how to get a fire started. Extremely useful! We had hired out the stone barn for the evening which James and Helen had set out perfectly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. At only 140 miles from west London it is a great location for a weekend break away from the city. I will be definitely returning to Penhein"

Winner Sawdays Glamping Location of the Year 2014

Awards

We were very proud to win the Sawdays “Glamping Location of the Year” in October 2014. "The beautiful Persian inspired alachighs manage to be at once blissfully comfortable and adventurously outdoorsy…”

Left Field Luxe - Luxury Magazine August 2014

Media

This luxury magazine was one of the first to notice us when we opened in 2014. " Iranian chic is perhaps the best way to describe the unusual Penhein glamping experience…." Find out more »

Upcoming events


Usk Choral Festival

Date: 29th - 31st March 2019

A brand new Choral Festival is coming to the small, picturesque town of Usk,...

Campfire Cookery for Children at Penhein

Date: Tuesday 9th April 2019 10.30 - 12.30

Brought to Penhein by the wonderful Flying Pig cookery school led by Natasha,...

Spring Fever Crafty Printing at Penhein

Date: Thursday 11th April 2019 10am to 1pm

With the farm bursting with the signs of spring, your children will love this...